• We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies from this website. Read more here

Banning order for entering the field of play 'disproportionate'

Egg

Well-known Exeweb poster
This is an interesting one.... a City fan runs onto the pitch during the Argyle game, but escapes a banning order because the magistrates decide it would be 'disproportionate':

http://www.exeterexpressandecho.co.uk/Overexcited-Exeter-City-fan-ran-pitch-Plymouth/story-29404193-detail/story.html

Clearly, I'm no legal expert, but thought that if you were found guilty of entering the field of play then a banning order was the inevitable outcome. Indeed, the CPS guidance on football-related offences appears to confirm this:

http://www.cps.gov.uk/legal/d_to_g/football_related_offences/#a02

Seems to me that the magistrates have disregarded the law and Matthew Penfold is a very, very lucky boy!

Last edited:

Spoonz Red E

Very well known Exeweb poster
Clearly, I'm no legal expert, but thought that if you were found guilty of entering the field of play then a banning order was the inevitable outcome. Indeed, the CPS guidance on football-related offences appears to confirm this:

Seems to me that the magistrates have disregarded the law and Matthew Penfold is a very, very lucky boy!
According to this part of the link you've given the magistrate did have the leeway not to give a banning order.

"It must be borne in mind that deterrence is only a factor to be borne in mind in determining the application; it is not the decisive factor, so that an order will not inevitably follow from a conviction for a football related offence (R v Boggild and Others [2011] EWCA Crim 1928)."

Last edited:

Egg

Well-known Exeweb poster
According to this part of the link you've given the magistrate did have the leeway not to give a banning order.