• We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies from this website. Read more here

ECFC V FGR Matchday thread

lamrobhero

Don’t know if you’re the same poster who has mentioned this before, but Psychology is a huge part of sport. People are realising more and more the benefits of training the mind as much as the body in order to reach peak performance. I’m currently doing my masters in Applied Sports Psychology in order to become a certified mental performance coach. I can guarantee in the near future a sports psychologists/mental performance coaches will be a common part of a staff in professional football just like a Physio or Strength and conditioning coaches.

I look forward to reaching out to GC in the future to offer my services!
Probably the same poster. I appreciate that I am likely just displaying my ignorance and my opinion may be coloured by my own work experience. We shall see how it pans out with Gary. I appreciate the importance of psychology, its just the way Gary talks / has talked about it would not inspire me, but maybe that's just me. I won't mention it again for some time because I realise that I am being incoherent.

Maybe in addition to the Chas series the media team could do a sports psychologist series ?
"Scoring just before half time is more important than scoring at any other time" - is it though? - surely players need to be able to transcend such a happening
"Important that players give 100% in every game" - is it though? - nobody gives 100% all the time, I didn't when I was working.

Andy_H