League 2 Play Off Dates Confirmed

The 71 EFL Clubs met earlier today to decide on how to end the season. League 2 teams voted overwhelmingly to end the season. Swindon Town, Plymouth Argyle and Crewe Alexandra have been confirmed as promoted to League 1, with Swindon Town being crowned champions of L2.

Cheltenham Town, Exeter City, Colchester United and Northampton Town will contest a play off for promotion to League 1. The four clubs have been given little time for preparation with the first leg starting in just 9 days time.

All the games will be played behind closed doors, including the final at Wembley on Monday 29th June.

The EFL have also confirmed that the 24th place team will also be relegated if the National League confirm that they will be starting the 2020/21 season. Due to on-going disciplinary matters the EFL have not confirmed whether the 24th club will be Stevenage or Macclesfield Town. To return the EFL to 72 clubs two teams should be promoted from the National League.

The play off games will be televised as live games.

1st Legs

Thursday, June 18

Colchester United v Exeter City – 5.15pm
Northampton Town v Cheltenham Town – 7.45pm

2nd Legs

Monday, June 22

Exeter City v Colchester United – 5.15pm
Cheltenham Town v Northampton Town – 8.00pm

Final (Wembley Stadium)
Monday, June 29 – 7.30pm

Leave a Reply