JPT 2014/14: Grecians Get Bye in Johnstone’s Paint Trophy

The regionalisation of the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy has been organised, as has the 16 clubs that will get byes into the 2nd round. In possibly good news Exeter City have been given a bye. Plymouth Argyle have also been given a bye, so the potential for a Devon Derby is still there.

The draw will take place on Saturday 16th August, possibly on Soccer AM.

The regional groupings for the first round are as follows:
Southern Section – West Northern Section – West
Cheltenham Town Accrington Stanley
Coventry City Carlisle United
Newport County Crewe Alexandra
Oxford United Fleetwood Town
Portsmouth Morecambe
Swindon Town Preston North End
Wycombe Wanderers Rochdale
Yeovil Town Shrewsbury Town
Southern Section – East Northern Section – East
AFC Wimbledon Barnsley
Cambridge United Bradford City
Crawley Town Chesterfield
Gillingham Mansfield Town
Leyton Orient Notts County
Peterborough United Oldham Athletic
Southend United Scunthorpe United
Stevenage York City
Southern Section – byes Northern Section – byes
Bristol City Bury
Exeter City Port Vale
Northampton Town Tranmere Rovers
Plymouth Argyle Walsall
Colchester United Burton Albion
Dagenham & Redbridge Doncaster Rovers
Luton Town Hartlepool United
Milton Keynes Dons Sheffield United

Vanishing spray, as used in the recent FIFA World Cup will also be trialled in this tournament.

Leave a Reply