Transfers in/outs 2020/21 and Retained list

Hants_red

Admin
Staff member
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
51,639
Location
NE Hants
Thread, made a sticky as (hopefully) a definitive list of player changes.

Players Retained

Jack Arthur GK - new pro
Harry Lee - GK new pro - https://www.exeweb.com/2021/07/03/young-keeper-signs-pro-contract-with-exeter-city/

Jake Caprice DF
Sam Stubbs DF
Ellis Johnson DF - new pro
Josh Key DF
Alfie Pond DF - new pro
Cheick Diabate DF
Alex Hartridge DF
Jack Sparkes DF
Jordan Dyer DF
Pierce Sweeney -DF. Re-signed after not taking up a new contract offer. Signed for Swindon Town. https://www.exeweb.com/2021/06/12/pierce-sweeney-moves-on-to-swindon-town/ Free agent https://www.exeweb.com/2021/07/02/pierce-sweeney-departs-swindon-after-one-day/

Harry Kite MF
Nigel Atangana MF
Archie Collins MF
Jack Veale MF - new pro
Nelson Iseguan MF - new pro

Matt Jay ST
Ben Seymour ST
Sonny Cox ST - new pro https://www.exeweb.com/2021/07/03/young-striker-sonny-cox-signs-professional-contract/

New Signings
31. Josh Coley MF - signed from Maidenhead. https://www.exeweb.com/2021/06/10/josh-coley-signs-for-exeter-city-as-the-new-no-31/
40. Scott Brown - GK/Coach https://www.exeweb.com/2021/06/10/scott-brown-joins-exeter-city-as-keeper-coach/
5. George Ray- DF https://www.exeweb.com/2021/06/29/george-ray-is-the-second-signing-of-the-day/
21. Callum Rowe - DF https://www.exeweb.com/2021/06/29/callum-rowe-is-a-grecian/
Jevani Brown ST - https://www.exeweb.com/2021/06/29/jevani-brown-joins-exeter-from-colchester/
10. Sam Nombe ST signed from MK Dons. 3 year, undisc https://www.exeweb.com/2021/07/05/exeter-citys-new-number-10-sam-nombe/
14. Timothee Dieng
27. Jonathan Grounds - DF
1. Cameron Dawson - GK season long loan from Sheffield Wednesday
11. Padraig Amond - ST season long loan from Newport County
30 ????

In on loan
.

Players offered new contracts


Lewis Page - signed for Harrogate Town.

Players Left

Jake Taylor - not taken up new contract offer. Signed for Stevenage https://www.exeweb.com/2021/05/21/jake-taylor-joins-stevenage/
Randell Williams - not taken up new contract offer. Signed for Hull City. https://www.exeweb.com/2021/06/18/randell-williams-off-to-hull-city/
Ryan Bowman - Signed for Shrewsbury Town (undisc) https://www.exeweb.com/2021/06/18/shrewsbury-town-take-ryan-bowman-for-an-undisclosed-fee/
Rory McArdle DF - signs for Harrogate https://www.exeweb.com/2021/07/01/rory-mcardle-leaves-exeter-and-joins-harrogate/
Lewis Ward GK - signs for Swindon Town
Jonny Maxted - signs for Northampton Town.
Tom Parkes - Signed for Livingston https://www.exeweb.com/2021/06/04/tom-parkes-signs-for-livingston/
Alex Fisher - Signed for Newport County
Nicky Ajose
Will Dean. To Truro https://www.exeweb.com/2021/05/31/will-dean-joins-truro-city/
Joel Randall MF to Peterborough

Retired
.

Retained list article - https://www.exetercityfc.co.uk/news/2021/may/retained-list-21/
 
Last edited:

denzil

Active member
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Messages
3,801
Location
east of the Exe and west of the Axe
For me personally there are still one or two in the "Players Retained" list that don't merit being kept on and do not fill me with over confidence on the 2021/2022 season to come. I won't name names.
 

Ash

Active member
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
1,577
Location
EX2
Of the players retained, it is a shame McArdle and Atangana have contracts.
And Seymour. But it's possible any or even all of those three could add something meaningful next season. Big Nige was decent in his first season, McArdle got better through last season and has bags of experience and Seymour is still youn enough to be one of those late bloomers, much like Matt Jay. That said, I'm not holding my breath.
 

Colesman Ballz

Well-known Exeweb poster
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
9,767
A potentially informative and factual thread taken down the crapper by opinions that were better placed elsewhere ! ☹
 

ryancooper327

Active member
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
1,833
Also, is this about right? Not 100% on the new pros best positions - unlikely we will see them this season anyway. Obviously some massive gaps. Ordered by 20/21 squad number within position, no other reason!

6091
 

Rosencrantz

Well-known Exeweb poster
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
6,530
Location
Tiverton
Also, is this about right? Not 100% on the new pros best positions - unlikely we will see them this season anyway. Obviously some massive gaps. Ordered by 20/21 squad number within position, no other reason!

View attachment 6091
Looks about right apart from the where does Sparkes play best debate. I think Jack Veale and Jack Arthur are still 18 though.
 
Top