Sports News

Rosencrantz

Active member
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
3,756
Location
Tiverton
Mark Cavendish will be another Tour absentee.
Looks like Bahrain McLaren are going all out to support Mikel Landa which is fair enough although they are taking Sonny Colbrelli who won a stage last year. Wout Poels is in the team though reuniting with Landa.

Unfortunately I'm not sure Cav will get another go at Le Tour. One of the all time Tour greats though.
 

Greyhound

Well-known Exeweb poster
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
5,627
Location
Nuncargate
News on the Yates brothers. Adam is in the M-Scott Tour squad, but has signed a deal to join Ineos later. Simon is staying with M-Scott and is to aim for the Giro.
 

Rosencrantz

Active member
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
3,756
Location
Tiverton
News on the Yates brothers. Adam is in the M-Scott Tour squad, but has signed a deal to join Ineos later. Simon is staying with M-Scott and is to aim for the Giro.
Interesting move for Adam. He must think he will be Froomes effective replacement and be given team leader status at one of the grand tours. With Bernal, Sivakov and Carapaz, not to mention G still hanging about, that might not be a given. But if he does, it's a great chance for him.
 

Greyhound

Well-known Exeweb poster
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
5,627
Location
Nuncargate
Novak Djokovic expelled from US Open. Dropped his serve and whacked a ball in frustration. It hit a lineswoman in the throat.

Tournament wide open now?
 

IndoMike

Very well known Exeweb poster
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
27,532
Location
Touring Central Java...
Too harsh disqualifying Djokovic for the incident with the line judge. He didn't whack it, but he did hit it. Just bad luck that it hit the line judge in the throat. If it had been anywhere else she would have been ok.
It was careless but I don't see any intention to harm her. Deduct a game : yes. But disqualify? I don't think so.
 

Rosencrantz

Active member
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
3,756
Location
Tiverton
Too harsh disqualifying Djokovic for the incident with the line judge. He didn't whack it, but he did hit it. Just bad luck that it hit the line judge in the throat. If it had been anywhere else she would have been ok.
It was careless but I don't see any intention to harm her. Deduct a game : yes. But disqualify? I don't think so.
It's the rules, automatic red card so to speak, as Tim Henman once found out.
 
Top