Football Conference 2014 AGM Report

The Football Conference AGM and Awards Ceremony took place at Celtic Manor in Newport on Saturday 7th June 2014. Here is a brief report of what happened:-

The AGM.

The Constitution of the Football Conference was agreed. However, there are conditions in place on Hereford United and Salisbury City  with cleared funds on Monday. If those funds don’t clear then reprieves for 3 clubs with the Premier re-constituted with Chester FC and Dartford in that order. Then down the pyramid, then adjustments to be made at Step 2 in favour of Hayes & Yeading United and then Tonbridge Angels.

On the question of debt to the HM Revenue & Customs, the Football Conference chairman reported that now £159,000 according to HMRC across the whole sixty-eight clubs.

New Board members were elected for next season. They were Tony Kleanthous (Barnet) Andrew Shaw (Altrincham) Joe Murphy (Worcester City) and John Turner (Bishop`s Stortford.

Just as the Football League did  at their AGM this weekend, Conference members also voted against any form of `B` teams.

The Awards Ceremony

Long service awards made to Peter Martin (Dartford) and David Martin (Dorchester Town).

Programme of the Year awards were made to Aldershot Town (Premier), Boston United (North) and Chelmsford City (South).

The Fair Play Awards were also made at the AGM and best on-field discipline went to Cambridge United (Premier), Oxford City (North) and Staines Town (South).

The Respect Awards went to Hyde FC (Premier), Guiseley AFC (North) and Basingstoke Town (South)

The first awards during the evening`s event were those for Community Club of the Year across all three divisions. Winning £10,000 each were Alfreton Town from the Premier, Colwyn Bay from the North and Bath City from the South.

Altrincham‘s James Walshaw received the `golden boot` award for his goals .

Awards then turned towards the winners of the respective Promotion Finals – Altrincham from the North, Dover Athletic from the South and Cambridge United from the Premier.

John Still of Luton Town received the Skrill Premier award for manager of the year.